Book Review: “Longing for a Miracle”

Ruth Logan Herne is a best-selling author who has published over 50 books. The latest that hit the shelves earlier this year is “Longing for a Miracle.”

“Longing for a Miracle” is full of heart-wrenching emotions – anguish, hope, anger, happiness, grief. It tells the story of forgiveness, of reconciliation, of redemption and of love.

Tasha Sorkos has come home for the weekend to help her mother, aunt and cousin pack up her grandmother’s house and move her to an apartment.

Rafe Karralis has come home from a high-paying job to help save his grandparents’ restaurant.

It is close to the holidays, but Tasha doesn’t celebrate. She suffered a tremendous loss three years prior and still grieves that loss, especially during the holidays. She hasn’t decorated in three years, has not gone to Christmas parties or pageants or plays or concerts. She merely survives until January.

Rafe has come home to help at the restaurant, but more importantly, he has brought his five-year-old daughter, Alexia, home to his grandparents’ house. He wants to give her the best Christmas possible. According to her doctors, it will be her last Christmas.

I will not give away any more information but will encourage you to read this book. I promise you won’t regret it. It will lift your spirits, bless you abundantly and who knows? It may even make you believe in miracles.

This book was given to me as a Mobi file as an award for a contest. The review is my opinion.

Contemplative, journaling, prayer, praying, quiet time, seek Him

“She Led a Contemplative Life”

Contemplative – it seems to be the latest buzz word. It is pronounced differently today than back in my day. Back then, (and no, it wasn’t in the dark ages), the accent was on the syllable “pla” so that it sounded like contemplaaative. Now the accent is on “temp” so it sounds like conTEMPlative. Same word, different accents, same meaning.

Mirriam-Webster defines contemplative as: given to or marked by long, quiet thinking; involving, allowing or causing deep thought; devoted to religious thought and prayer.

I recently started working on Sunday mornings as the lead teacher for the 2-year-olds at a local church. They have a time of fellowship before the worship service begins, and they bring in a coffee truck for members to purchase a cup of coffee or tea while they mingle and talk with other members and visitors. If one works or volunteers with the children, one’s coffee is free. As I stood in line to get my coffee, a woman walked up to me, introduced herself, told me she was part of the prophetic ministry at this church and asked if I would mind if she gave me a prophecy. (Please keep reading! This is not a blog about whether or not prophesy is real, for today, etc.) I told her I didn’t mind and she proceeded to tell me that she believed the Lord wanted me to know that He has a time of refreshing for me, that it will be like I’m standing under a waterfall and refreshing, renewal and rest will flood over me. She ended by saying that this time of refreshing is near. I thanked her and she walked away.

You are probably wondering what that prophecy has to do with being contemplative. Keep reading – I’m getting there.

On the Tuesday following that Sunday, I heard a devotion and the speaker used St. Judith of the 14th century as an example. One sentence stood out to me: “She led a contemplative life.” It immediately occurred to me that is one way for a time of refreshing to occur. Not that I have to manufacture a time of refreshing – God will bring it to pass in His timing. But spending more time in thought, prayer, journaling, reading the Bible can prepare me for that time of refreshing.

What does this have to do with you? I don’t know of anyone who is not crazy-busy these days and with the holidays just around the corner, will be even busier. Who among us could not use more quiet time? What if we begin today spending more time in thought, prayer, journaling and reading the Bible–how would that change our daily lives? Yes, we may have to give up some things to do this – TV, social media and other distractions – but I am sure if we do give up those things, God will meet us in our contemplation.

So, who will join me in leading a contemplative life?

Please leave a comment to let me know you are joining me.

time lapse photography of waterfalls during sunset
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com



BOOK REVIEW:Never the Twain

Delia Latham has written Book 2 of the Hummingbird Hollow series, “Never the Twain,” and it is just as charming as Book 1, “Hummingbird Kisses.”

Inn the Hollow is a beautiful inn located in the middle of Hummingbird Hollow and is surrounded by  gorgeous flowers, gardens, and a lush, green forest. Inn the Hollow is owned by Toni Littlebird, a Native American, who has the “gift” of communicating with the thousands of hummingbirds that live in the hollow. It’s almost spiritual to watch her talk to and “listen” to the hummingbirds.

Cass Townsend has been forced by her family to take a two-week vacation from the family business before total burn-out takes over.

Ryder Hayes is hoping to buy an Arabian Horse located on a ranch not too far from Hummingbird Hollow.

Both have reservations at Inn the Hollow.

Cass is Miss Propriety – almost to perfection, if such a thing were possible. Never a hair out of place and always dressed for the occasion. A savvy business woman, she never relaxes.

Ryder is a fun-loving, hard-working down-to-earth kinda guy. He loves to joke, but is a true gentleman.

When the two meet, sparks began to fly.

“Never the Twain” is a delightful story–one that the reader will long remember after the last page. I highly recommend this book!

This book was given to me by the author for the sole purpose of reading and writing a review. The opinions expressed in this review are the reviewer’s only.




Book Review: Love Waits

Love Waits is the latest book in the Davenport series by Judah Knight. The adventure continues as Jon and Meg Davenport, their niece, Lacey Henderson and her boyfriend, Kerrick Daniels, search for buried treasure. Love Waits is an action-packed, suspense-filled story, with romance woven throughout the novel. Knight does such a great job of describing the scenery, readers can visualize themselves in the midst of the advevnture. Authentic details add to the reality of the story.

Although Love Waits is Book Five in the Davenport Series, it can be read as a stand-alone novel. However, if you have not read Books 1-4, I would encourage you to do so. Join in from the very beginning and follow the Davenports as they live the adventures of a lifetime!